The Night I Was Born

Standard

I wrote this as a tongue in cheek effort for a life writing exercise on A215.  Now I really should get on with that TMA….

On the day I was born, it was actually
Night-time.  Late November also, not
Quite Christmas, and my Dad has sworn,
That six foot of snow had settled on the
Paths outside.  The paramedics had to warn
Not to trip (or possibly drown) through the blow
Of the wind and ice that came from the storm.

This is a lie, although it has stuck.  Such a
Luxury of snowflakes would make the record books.
Although my little myth is nice to look upon;
It makes me glow a little and smile – that people
Remember; the mistook flurry that night
When I was unborn and important enough
That I partook, albeit unknowing, in a family fairy tale.

2 responses »

    • I’m quite lucky in that my Dad has stories like this for all occasions so I can use them sometimes for inspiration. I have a soft spot for the month of November, my son was born then too so I can’t help but think it must be a very lucky month ;-).

Leave a comment